Kentucky Flag

About Us
Vendor Members
KY Transit



Please Send dues to:  Pam Shepherd at FTSB's new address: 1713 Jaggie Fox Way, Lexington, KY  40511    


































Letter from Ms. Vickie S. Bourne, Executive Director

 Approved State Management Plan 2021

What follows is a letter from Kenney Etherton, Executive Director at Fulton County Transit.  As you are aware, Western Kentucky has endured storms/Tornadoes on December 10, 2021.

Download Kenney's Letter HERE! 

 insertFrom the President

From the desk of ………Pam Shepherd

It is my pleasure to represent the Kentucky Public Transit Association (KPTA) as your new president.  I want to thank the KPTA board and members for putting your confidence in me to lead the organization.  I have had a passion for KPTA for over 24 years and it’s a privilege to take that passion into the future.

I want to take this opportunity to thank our previous president, Beecher Hudson, for his tireless work as our president for so many years.  He was always available to meet with Kentucky state legislators and Kentucky’s national delegation to Washington on numerous issues, including securing funding.  

We have endeavored to overcome many obstacles last year, particularly dealing with Covid-19.  Transit agencies need to be commended for their excellent service to their customers.  Their communities should consider themselves lucky to have these agencies provide transit services throughout Kentucky. 

Due to the pandemic, transit agencies have experienced low ridership which has led to low fare box revenues, expenses from purchasing personal protective equipment (PPE), and issues with drivers’ shortages.

And yet, despite all these issues, transit providers across the state of Kentucky have been able to transport individuals to work at essential services and to life sustaining medical treatment. 

We are entering a new way of normal for our lives in transit.  Our priorities have moved to making sure all our drivers are receiving their Covid-19 vaccine.  Once all our drivers have been vaccinated, they will derive some peace of mind as they continue to interact with passengers who are positive and connecting individuals with available vaccines.  Once our nation has most individuals vaccinated we can move our transit lives forward. 

Please remember that I am here for all the members in anything they may need from me. 


Pam Shepherd, President

Kentucky Public Transit Association

Executive Director

Federated Transportation Services of the Bluegrass, Inc.

1713 Jaggie Fox Way

Lexington, KY  40511



June 3, 2019

The Office of Transportation Delivery is currently developing its three year participation goal. Once approved, the goal will be in effect for three years beginning October 1, 2019 – September 30, 2022.

The DBE goal and its methodology will be made online at: Comments will be made available from June 21 – July 22, 2019. Additionally, the information is available for review at the KYTC Main Office, Monday – Friday 8am – 4pm (EST) located at:

200 Mero Street Frankfort, KY 40601

Written comments can be submitted via email or mailed to:

Kelley Johnson

Office of Transportation Delivery Kentucky Transportation Cabinet 200 Mero Street

Frankfort, KY 40601

Kelley. Johnson@ky. gov

PRINT the Document Here



     CTAA recognized KPTA with 2014 State leadership Award. 

The 2014 Community Transportation of America (CTAA) Conference and EXPO was held in St. Paul, Minnesota June 7-13, 2014.  During the awards breakfast on Wednesday, CTAA recognized KPTA with the Leadership Award.  President Beecher Hudson accepted the award on behalf of KPTA.

    Read the Press Release here.  President Beecher Hudson accepted the award!

Shown in the photo left to right.  Shirley Cummins, Vice President (RTEC), Beecher Hudson, President (Louisville Wheels), Dan Lanham, Executive Board (Audubon Area Transit) and   Pam Shepherd, Secretary/Treasurer (FTSB).


Bourne Inducted into Kentucky Transportation Hall of Fame at KBT

                      (Click on photo to enlarge)vb  During the Kentuckians for Better Transportation (KBT) Conference on January 10, 2014, Ms. Vickie S. Bourne, Executive Director of the Office of Transportation Delivery was inducted into the Kentucky Transportation Hall of Fame, a well-deserved honor after over 40 year contribution to the success of public transportation in the Commonwealth.  A few of the previous inductees include Congressman Hal Rogers, Bert T. Combs, Paul Patton, Calvin G. Grayson, and Patsy Anderson.


Please remember FTSB has moved when mailing in your KPTA dues. 

The address is below:

Pam Shepherd, Executive Director\

Federated Transportation Services of the Bluegrass, Inc.

1713 Jaggie Fox Way, Lexington, KY  40511

859-233-0066 Phone

859-233-1668 Fax

Thanks so much for all the members support of KPTA.



The State and its transit agencies must take responsible steps to ensure meaningful access to the benefits, services, information, and other important portions of their programs and activities for individuals who are Limited English Proficient (LEP).  Necessary steps will be based on four (4) factors:  (1) the number and proportion of LEP persons served or encountered in the eligible service population; (2) the frequency with which LEP individuals come into contact with the program, activity, or service: (3) the nature and importance of the program, activity, or service provided by the program; and, (4) the resources available to the agency and costs. 

LEP assistance is provided without charge.


FTA Circular C4702.1A

Executive Order 13166 on Accessing Transportation for Persons with Limited English Proficiency 


Copyright © 2005-2022 Kentucky Public Transit Association.


This website and contents shall not be used on another site, or reproduced in any manner without the prior written consent of KPTA.  Any artwork, banner links, or midis have been placed here purely for entertainment, recreation and review purposes only, without any commercial interest whatsoever or profit of any kind. All titles are copyrighted by their respective artists and record companies.

This page last modified 01/10/2022